Board of Directors

The board of directors of the Association of the Black Conservatives is called the National Council. Directors sit on the board for a term of two years and can be re-elected. To be eligible to sit on the board, a director needs to be a Black Canadian who meets one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Previous officials elected on a conservative platform;
  2. Previous or current conservative nomination candidates;
  3. Previous or current conservative provincial and federal conservative party riding /EDA directors; and/or
  4. Previous or current conservative party staffers.

The National Council is currently made up of the following:

Dr. Akolisa Ufodike

Dr. Akolisa Ufodike is National Chair of the National Council of the Association of Black Conservatives. He also sits as the Chair of the Communications Committee. He has been involved in political organizing since 2004. Dr. Ufodike was a Candidate in the 2015 legacy United Conservative Party nominations. He has sat on the board of two provincial conservative riding associations and in 2019 successfully ran the campaign for the Hon. Kaycee Madu, the first Nigerian elected to Provincial office in Canada and sole conservative party riding won in Edmonton in the elections. Dr. Ufodike is also an Accounting educator. Prior to becoming an educator, he was CFO of Corridor Communications Inc., one of the largest wireless internet service providers in Canada. He sits on the Provincial Audit Committee for Alberta and has sat on the board of US and Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) listed companies including, serving as the Chair of the audit Committee of aTSX Company. Dr. Ufodike has volunteered with and served on the board of several charities including the Black Business Professional Association, Peel Literacy Guild and Scouts Canada, where he was treasurer and later Chairman of the Chinook Council. A graduate of Haskayne’s Philosophy of Education (PHD) and Cornell’s Master of Business Administration program. Dr. Ufodike is a Canadian FCPA, a US CPA, a UK FCCA and a Certified Fraud Examiner. He is also a Certified Director ICD.D. In 2014, Dr. Ufodike was awarded a Fellowship of the Chartered Professional Accountants association.

Susie Ally

Susie Ally is the Board Secretary for the National Council and Chair of the Membership and Outreach Committee. She is the Vice-President Memberships for the UCP Constituency Association in Edmonton-South West. In 2019, she worked as the Deputy Campaign Manager for the Hon. Kaycee Madu campaign during the Alberta Provincial Election, where he was elected as the only conservative seat in Edmonton and the first African born Cabinet Minister. Susie has sat on other boards including, Board of Governors and Senate at the University of Manitoba. She currently sits as Chair for the Engagement and Outreach Committee and as Vice-Chair for the Policy Committee. Previously, she chaired committees including, Environmental Committee, Student Senate Caucus and International Student Caucus. She is currently working as the Chief of Staff for the Minister of Labour and Immigration at the Government of Alberta. Prior to this, she has worked as a Policy Analyst and Advocate. Susie earned a Bachelor’s Degree (Honours) in Political Studies and minor in History from the University of Manitoba. She then completed a Master of Art in Global Diplomacy from the School of Oriental and African Students, University of London.

Olatunde Olatona

Olatunde Olatona is the Chair of the Governance Committee. He sits on the Constituency Association Board for Airdrie East. He is currently the Managing Partner/Business Consultant of Glass Doctor of Calgary. Previously he has worked as a Business Manager in the oil and gas industry, as Senior Management, Research & Engineering, Manufacturing, and Field Operations with Schlumberger, a reputable Oil and Gas services company. He earned his Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Ilorin. He earned his Master of Science in Project Management from the University of Wisconsin, Platteville, USA. He also holds a Post-Graduate Diploma in Management for Oil and Gas from Herriot Watt University in the United Kingdom and a Project Management Professional from the Project Management Institute.

Nelson Osamudiamen

Nelson Osamudiamen is a practicing lawyer at Ford Nelson Lawyers, focusing primarily on personal injury and real estate law. He has served on the board of various non-profit organizations, including the board of Children’s Legal and Educational Resources Centre. He earned his Juris Doctor at the University of Calgary and obtained his Bachelor of Arts with distinction at Laurentian University in May 2010.